Sabha Day 2018

26th January 2018 at St. Paul’s School Ground, Dadar

All roads led to St Paul Church, Dadar on January 26, 2018 – the venue for Sabha Day, the annual gathering of the Bombay Catholic Sabha (BCS). The Eucharist was celebrated by Bp Barthol Barretto who exhorted those present to be ‘apostles of love’. He prayed for all the BCS members across the archdiocese, and especially its Executive Committee and office-bearers. The youthful choir added to the joyful participation of the congregation.

The event, held on St Paul School grounds, was carefully planned and well executed. Bp Barthol was the Chief Guest and Mr Albert D’Souza was the Guest of Honour. The BCS President, Ms Rita D’Sa, welcomed the large gathering and acknowledged the work of the BCS units across the archdiocese. She highlighted the current thrust of the BCS on youth entering the Civil Services, and urged all present to support this venture. Mr Bento Lobo, Secretary General, presented a compilation of the work done during the year and the achievements in various spheres – civic, political, social, etc. A tribute was paid to the late Anand Castelino, the former Secretary General, who passed away in August 2017.

Bp Barthol’s crisp speech encouraged the BCS members to keep working to achieve the vision of the Sabha. He congratulated the winners of the Awards. Mr Albert D’Souza took the opportunity to share his views on the future course of action for all Catholics; he urged the BCS to be in the forefront of creating entrepreneurs, supporting aspiring civil servants and training youth to be employable and to become employers. Fr Felix D’Souza, ecclesiastical adviser to the BCS, asked the members to be alert to current realities and to respond with

The Awards ceremony that followed saw several units (that topped their respective deaneries) receiving trophies for the work done during the year. It was a time for recognising the hard work put in by Unit Managing Committees. The winners of the Power of One awards – Dr Anil K. D’Cruz, Mr Nicholas Almeida, Ana Dias and Joseph Fernandes – were also felicitated.

Thanks are due to the Sabha Day Conveners Mr. Lawrence Fernandes. Mr. Ronald Tressler and Mr. Robert D’Souza who together with the President Ms. Rita D’Sa put in their efforts to make this a very entertaining and cherished evening.

The Jt. Treasurer, Mr. Gordon D’Silva proposed the vote of thanks and the large gathering then shared the fellowship dinner, returning back with feelings of gladness and gratitude.

The evening came to a close with a sumptuous dinner and a firm resolve to be committed to a better tomorrow – today!


Our Lady of Glory - Byculla South Bombay Deanery
Our lady of Mount Carmel - Bandra Bandra Deanery
St. John Bosco - Borivali Borivali Deanery

Our Lady of Victories - Mahim North Bombay Deanery 
St. Thomas - Goregaon  Borivali Deanery
Holy Family - Pestom Sagar Kurla Deanery
St. Joseph - Vikhroli  Thane Deanery

Our Lady of Good Council - Sion North Bombay Deanery 
Our Lady of Immaculate Conception - Borivali  Borivali Deanery
St. Jude - Jari Mari Kurla Deanery

St. Joseph - Vikhroli Thane Deanery 

Holy Family - Pestom Sagar Kurla Deanery 

The BCS Power of One Awards:
  • Dr. Anil Dcruz - For Outstanding services in Medical Field
  • Mr. Nicholas Almeida - For Outstanding Social Activism
  • Ms. Anna Santan Dias - For Excellence in Sports
  • Mr. Joseph Fernandes - For Outstanding achievements against all odds
We are grateful to our Partners:
  • Mr Christopher John, Earnest John Group of Companies - Title Partner.
  • Mr. Albert W. D’Souza of Aldel Education Trust - Gold Partner
  • Mr. Rajan Thomas of Suraj Estate Developers Pvt Ltd - Gold Partner
  • Mr Agnelorajesh Athaide, St Angelo Computers - Pearl Partner